Excerpts From My OSCAFEST22 Experience

Excerpts From My OSCAFEST22 Experience

An article to talk about my experience at the just concluded OSCAFEST event with the theme: "The Future is open".

ยท

3 min read

A small expo for those that didn't attend OSCAFEST22 ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜‰.

whisper-donald-duck.gif

Opinions on here are solely mine.

In recent weeks, Tech Twitter was awash with buzz and vibes of the OSCAFEST event which was to be held at Zone Tech Park, Lagos State in Nigeria.

The sensations were electrifying and I believe it was due to the fact that tickets sold in batches were limited and many who wished to attend couldn't because it got sold out a few days after being announced.

Well, I was part of the lucky ones who got a ticket. I attended not only as an attendee but also as a volunteer๐Ÿ˜€.

I was so excited to meet many folks in the tech ecosystem. Most of whom, I've been interacting with on Twitter and other Social media platforms and had never met in real life before.

yayomg-gru-dance-gif.gif

The event which lasted three(3) days, starting from Thursday to Saturday, brought many people from all walks of life irrespective of physical boundaries, tribe, religion, opinion, and orientation under one roof. The movement was aimed at encouraging and sensitizing people about Open Source Contributions in the Tech Ecosystem.

My Duties as a Volunteer

I was part of the Logistics/Protocol team which was in charge of organizing/managing attendees on the premises and also moving items when necessary and where it's needed for the smooth running of the program.

As a result, I was lucky to work directly with some of the big names in the Nigerian Tech Ecosystem e.g Edidiong Asikpo, Peace Ojemeh, Margaret, Amara, and others.

My experience as an Attendee

I networked with a whole lot of awesome people in the space, I attended talks that spanned across topics centered on:

  • Personal Growth as a Developer
  • Financial Stability
  • Growing your Open Source Community
  • Starting out and growing as a Technical Writer
  • Creating your Open Source Project

Some of My Take-Home Quotes

  • Put yourself out there

  • Start with making an impact, being a superstar will follow

  • Planning a stable financial life as a Software Engineer involves Planning and Investing

  • Ways to encourage and hype your community involves Hiring(contract/full) and Exclusive invites

  • The Future is open, show off what you do

  • All you have, is literally all you need to turn your life around

    Want to know more about the event? You can follow the hashtag #OSCAFEST22 on Twitter. You are sure to see amazing things that happened coupled with pictures and videos of attendees, speakers, and moments.

My special thanks and shoutout to the organizers.

Please don't forget to like, share your experience in the comment section if you attended virtually or physically, and also subscribe to my newsletter for more contents

please-begging.gif

Thanks for reading.

rascals-littlerascals.gif

ย